Some of our wonderful supporters!

Why are you supporting the campaign?

“I would like to be able to formalise my commitment to my partner and mother of my children, giving her the independence and legal security she deserves.”

Joseph Gaze, Letchworth Garden City

“Whilst it is a wonderful and just thing that civil partnerships and marriage are now options for same-sex partners, it is unfathomable why civil partnerships should be denied to those of us in opposite-sex couples who have no desire to be married. The fact that we would have to marry to share the same rights as a married couple, after 16 years together and counting, is simply not justifiable.”

Heather Goldie, London

“We must have equality of choice regardless of sexual preference.”

Cllr Anna Bailey, Ely

“Although I will probably opt for the traditional route should I ever get married, I believe we should have the option to do either. Anyone who would like to have a civil partnership should have one, regardless of if that is me or not.”

Holly Grahan, London

“All couples should be able to choose what is right for them.”

Nicola Freeman, London

“My partner and I have been together 30 years. We have 2 children (18 and 21). We have a mortgage. We have worked and paid tax throughout. If we’re not entitled to the benefits and protections of a civil partnership, then I don’t know who is.”

Michael Carton, Ickenham

“I’ve been in a long-term partnership for 40 years. We do not want to get married but we do want the same legal rights as married couples and same-sex couples in a civil partnership. We have taken financial and legal responsibility for each other as required under UK cohabitation laws and been treated the same way as a married couple rather than two individuals for welfare rights and a host of other provisions, so why are we not entitled to the full range of legal rights that married couples enjoy?”

Nicola Harwin, Bristol

“Both heterosexual and homosexual couples should have the equal right to choose what type of ceremony and label fits their beliefs and relationship.”

Shiva Riahi, London

“I would like to be able to enter into a civil partnership with my heterosexual partner of almost 30 years. I have no desire to be married.”

Ros McIntyre, Herne Bay

“This kind of inequality makes a nonsense of the law if allowed to continue!”

Stephen Mays, London

“The right to equality before the law is a fundamental right that should not be denied to opposite-sex couples.”

Desmond Banks, London

“My partner and I do not favour marriage but would register as civil partners which would give us certain rights under the law which we do not currently have.”

Martin Elliff, Long Wittenham


Graham Brady, MP for Altrincham and Sale West and Chair of the Conservative Party 1922 Committee

Caroline Lucas, Co-Leader of the Green Party and MP for Brighton Pavilion

Tim Loughton, Conservative MP for East Worthing and Shoreham

Crispin Blunt, Conservative MP for Reigate

Sadiq Khan, Mayor of London

Baroness Gould, Deputy Speaker of the Lords (Labour)

Dominic Grieve QC, Conservative MP for Beaconsfield

Corri Wilson, SNP MP for Ayr, Carrick, and Cumnock

Liz Kendall, Labour MP for Leicester West

Women’s Equality Party

Nigel Adams, Conservative MP for Selby and Ainsty

Rob Marris, Labour MP for Wolverhampton South West

Sarah Champion, Shadow Minister for Women and Equalities and Labour MP for Rotherham

Kirsty Blackman, SNP MP for Aberdeen North

Keith Prince, Conservative London Assembly Member

Tulip Siddiq, Shadow Minister for Education and MP for Hampstead and Kilburn

Heidi Alexander, Labour MP for Lewisham East

Henry Smith, Conservative MP for Crawley

Kate Green, Labour MP for Stretford and Urmston

Sir Peter Bottomley, Conservative MP for Worthing West

Dr Lisa Cameron, SNP MP for East Kilbride, Strathaven, and Lesmahagow

Dr Rupa Huq, Shadow Home Office Minister and MP for Ealing Central and Acton

Simon Hoare, Conservative MP for North Dorset

Valerie Vaz, Shadow Leader of the Commons and MP for Walsall South

Jonathan Edwards, Plaid Cymru MP for Carmathen East and Dinefwr

Steve O’Connell, Conservative London Assembly Member for Croydon and Sutton

Martin Docherty-Hughes, SNP MP for West Dunbartonshire

Jon Cruddas, Labour MP for Dagenham and Rainham

Jude Kirton-Darling, Labour MEP for the North East

David Nuttall, Conservative MP for Bury North

Liz Saville Roberts, Plaid Cymru MP for Dwyfor Meirionnydd

Kirsten Oswald, SNP MP for East Renfrewshire

Cat Smith, Labour MP for Lancaster and Fleetwood

Andrew Boff, Conservative London Assembly Member

Alan Brown, SNP MP for Kilmarnock and Loudoun

Angela Eagle, Labour MP for Wallasey

Catherine West, Shadow Foreign Affairs Minister and MP for Hornsey and Wood Green

Anneliese Dodds, Labour MEP for the South East

Caroline Russell, Green Party London Assembly Member

Yvonne Fovargue, Labour MP for Makerfield

Gavin Newlands, SNP MP for Paisley and Renfewshire

Alex Cunningham, Shadow Minister for Work and Pensions and MP for Stockton North

Wes Streeting, Labour MP for Tower Hamlets

Tommy Sheppard, SNP MP for Edinburgh East

Kerry McCarthy, Labour MP for Bristol East

Mike Gapes, Labour MP for Ilford South

George Kerevan, SNP MP for East Lothian

Alan Meale, Labour MP for Mansfield

Stephen Twigg, Labour MP for Liverpool, West Derby

Andy Slaughter, Labour MP for Hammersmith

Julie Girling, Conservative MEP for the South West

Jeff Smith, Labour MP for Manchester, Withington

Sian Berry, Green Party London Assembly Member

Gavin Shuker, Labour MP for Luton South

Mark Durkan, SDLP MP for Foyle

Liz McInnes, Shadow Foreign Affairs Minister and MP for Heywood and Middleton

Roger Godsiff, Labour MP for Birmingham, Hall Green

Chris Bryant, Labour MP for Rhondda

Geoffrey Robinson, Labour MP for Coventry North West

Martyn Day, SNP MP for Lithlingow and East Falkirk

Carolyn Harris, Shadow Minister for Home Affairs and MP for Swansea East

Paul Blomfield, Labour MP for Sheffield Central

Tom Brake, Liberal Democrat Spokesperson for Foreign Affairs and Shadow Chief Whip

Kelvin Hopkins, Labour MP for Luton North

Seb Dance, Labour MEP for London

Andrew Dismore, Labour London Assembly Member

Virendrar Sharma, Labour MP for Ealing Southall

Craig Whittaker, Conservative MP for Calder Valley

Jo Stevens, Labour MP for Cardiff Central

Vernon Coaker, Labour MP Gedling

David Drew, Labour MP for Stroud

Sandy Martin, Labour MP for Ipswich

John Grogan, Labour MP for Keighley

Frank Field, Labour MP for Birkenhead

Kate Hoey, Labour MP for Vauxhall

Thangham Debbonaire, Labour MP for Bristol West

Louise Haigh, Labour MP for Sheffield Heeley

Lloyd-Russell Moyle, Labour MP for Brighton and Kemptown

Anneliese Dodds, Labour MP for Oxford East

Bambos Charalambous, Labour MP for Enfield Southgate

Chris Ruane, Labour MP for Vale of Clywd

Cath McKinnell, Labour MP for Newcastle North

Dr Paul Williams, Labour MP for Stockton North

Kit Malthouse, Conservative MP for North West Hampshire

Public figures

Caroline Criado-Perez, journalist and campaigner

Owen Jones, Guardian journalist and campaigner

Peter Tatchell, human rights campaigner

Wendy Cope, poet

Fiona Miller, journalist and campaigner

Elsie Owusu OBE, founding member of Society of Black Architects

Professor Rob Wintemute, Professor of Human Rights Law at King’s College, London

Ben Rich, campaigner

Martin Loat, founder and CEO of Propeller Group

Ellie O’Hagan, journalist and campaigner




TUC Women

Women’s Budget Group

Peter Tatchell Foundation

Humanist Society Scotland

Equality Network

Progressive Women

The Great Initiative

Engender, Scottish women’s equality campaign